FEATURE ARTIST: MIRAGES

Mirages

Introduce yourself and your music:
Sure! My name is Joe Kneipp, and I recently started playing under the moniker Mirages. I had a bunch of songs left over from High School that were never recorded after the dissolution of a couple of other projects, and that’s kind of how this project got started.

How would you describe your sound and lyric style?
Think chilled electronic, with the energy of a rock show and an acoustic heart. The sound of this project changes quite drastically from song-to-song. When we were recording our EP it was only my producer/band mate Steve Thornely and I together in the studio, so I didn’t really feel there was any pressure or necessity to stick to one genre. Lyrically though, I think the songs are pretty similar; it’s all about being young and trying to figure things out on your own for the first time.

Who are your main influences?
When I was a lot younger I was absolutely obsessed with U2. I loved how anthemic and unbashful their songs were. When I got older I started getting into a wider variety of genres. I’d count amongst my influences Talking Heads, The Kinks, Nick Drake, and Steve Reich, but some amazing contemporary artists like Arcade Fire and The Antlers also inspire me.

What are you working on now?
Polishing up our live show. The neighbours must be wondering what the hell is going on – since we all wear earphones when we play, the only noise we make in rehearsal is my singing. It must sound like I’m singing in the shower all day!

Are you touring now?
Not yet, but keep your ears peeled for our first gig announcement.

What can people expect at your live gigs?
Something a little bit different; the hybrid of acoustic and electronic elements in our live set-up is really unique, and should translate to an interesting listening experience.

Where can people check out your music?
You can check our first single ‘Brighton Rock’ of our forthcoming debut EP at:

http://mirages.bandcamp.com/track/brighton-rock

https://soundcloud.com/miragesmusic/brighton-rock

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8ZP00afbCnc

Also, swing by our Facebook page for updates at:

https://www.facebook.com/miragestheband

Leave a Reply

