FEATURE ARTIST: LEANNE KINGWELL

Kingwell_222634_1999_09-72

Introduce yourself and your music:
Kingwell. Leanne. Rock singer/songwriter. Very nice human being.

I’ve just completed my new album Choking On Halos, which was written in Melbourne and recorded in Hollywood over a period of two years. I flew backwards and forwards so much I’ve got enough Frequent Flyer Points to buy a date with Ryan Gosling.

How would you describe your sound and lyric style?
Someone described Choking On Halos as “Atmospheric Rock”. Not sure what that means. I just wanted to make an album that was more than the pro-forma 3 radio singles and fuck-the-rest. My mission was to create a sort of sonic movie, that was cohesive and took the listener on a journey. You know, like the great “whack-on-ya-cans-and-take-the-trip” records used to do. Lyrically I like to write in pictures and metaphors. Each song for me is just another emotional brick in the wall of the story I’m living.

Who are your main influences?
David Bowie, Pink Floyd, Nirvana, My Chemical Romance. I was big on buying back catalogues when I was a kid. So the Clash, Easybeats, Sex Pistols, Pixies…. Anything with a decent back beat, melody, emotional intelligence and attitude.

Oh, by the way, did I mention Vodka?

What are you working on now?
Right now I’m doing the publicity things I need to get my first single “Slingshot” on the radio. I’ve just completed a video. And a bunch of phone interviews to exotic locations. I’m involved with an Animal Healing Sanctuary and this weekend I will be shaving Alpacas and shoveling manure. Nothing like shoveling shit to keep your feet on the ground.

Are you touring now?
I’ve only just got back to Oz, but after 2 years of songwriting and studio lockdown, I can’t wait to get my butt out there for some live shows. Unfortunately, the band I’ve been using was pulled together from far-flung corners of America. We borrowed the drummer from Gnarls Barkley. The guitarist from Candlebox. My bass player is a grandson of a guy from Johnny Cash’s band. Now I’m back in Australia and they’re all back touring and recording in America. I’ll have to form an Aussie version of the band if I want to play south of the equator. Which I do. So when the time’s right, I will.

What can people expect at your live gigs?
A kick butt rock gig with the odd ballad chucked in for good measure. All kill-no fill guaranteed.

Where can people check out your music?
All the usual places:
Download from iTunes : http://tinyurl.com/kjlh2ef
Physical CD from CDbaby : http://tinyurl.com/l6c6wo7
Amazon : http://tinyurl.com/kz2nuql
Soundcloud : http://soundcloud.com/leanne-kingwell
YouTube : http://tinyurl.com/l748g8c
And just so you know, new stalkers are always welcome on my Facebook : www.facebook.com/LeanneKingwell

Leave a Reply

