FEATURE ARTIST: MICHAEL MCFARLAND

download

Introduce yourself and your music:
Hi there! My name’s Michael McFarland, I’m a singer-songwriter from Asheville, North Carolina, a motorcycle enthusiast, and I’m somewhat obsessed with technology, science fiction, and design. The easiest way to describe me? Writer, rocker, biker, geek.

How would you describe your sound and lyric style?
I describe my music as Rhythmic Alt-Pop – all my songwriting has a very strong rhythmic underpinning; I often start with a beat and build the rest of the song on top of that. My lyrics are all autobiographical, and it’s possible to trace the path of my recent life through my records. Lyrically, I have a tendency to be self-deprecating, and I love big words… though I try to limit myself to one per song.

Who are your main influences? What else inspires you?
The two main places I draw my musical influences from are classic singer-songwriters like Paul Simon, Jim Croce, or Bruce Springsteen, and from 90s-era alternative rock acts like Our Lady Peace, Third Eye Blind, and Matchbox 20. I also draw a lot of inspiration from my travels – as a songwriter, stories are my stock in trade, so I try to live by the Law of Anecdotal Value: “Given any choice in life, assuming no harm to others, always choose the path that will give you the best stories.”

What are you working on now?
Over the past month I’ve been hit with a wave of song ideas, so in between touring I’ve been working on demoing out that material, so when it comes time to head back in the studio I’ll have lots of songs to work with. In the next few months I’m also going be shooting a music video for my song “Remember Me“.

Are you touring now? When/where?
For the past several month I’ve been on tour, traveling on my motorcycle, guitar strapped to my back, in support of my latest EP, “A Failed Breakup”. My last two tours took me throughout the North East and Midwest US. I’ll be going on two more tours in early 2013, covering the south east, and out to the west coast.

What can people expect at your live gigs?
Don’t be fooled by the idea that I’m a solo singer-songwriter; I make quite a ruckus. When I perform live, my only instrument is my acoustic guitar; I beat on the body of that guitar to create backing rhythms, loop those rhythms, and perform my songs over them. You can usually expect me to share the back story to some of my songs, and there will also be a fair amount of stomping.

Where can people check out your music?
The easiest place to find everything is at my website, http://michaelmcfarlandmusic.com. My music is also available on iTunes, Amazon, Spotify, Bandcamp, and most any other online music retailer you can think of!

Leave a Reply

