FEATURE ARTIST: ONE SECOND HOTEL

01
Introduce yourself and your music:
Hi, Jakub here. I play guitar in a progressive metal band One Second Hotel, of which I’m also a founder and main songwriter. It also makes me the worst person to describe our music, so I highly recommend you to ignore my further words and check it out yourself.
Usually when I’m asked to be more specific, I say that we mix it up with a little bit of “ambient” and “electronic”, just to make us look more cool, you know… ‘cause… prog is… well…

How would you describe your sound and lyric style?
We like having a rich, tight, self-confident and energetic sound, but I also love the fact that music can speak to people on a certain level and recreate memories and emotions, so there’s also this other, mostly quieter, intimate side of it too.
Lyric style obviously depends. Our singer wrote all the lyrics for our debut EP… I guess that makes him the main lyricist in the band now, doesn’t it? He tends to write pretty much about anything from everyday life to space travelers colonizing our planet, according to what makes sense for the song, whereas I usually rather stay away from fiction. But in general, lyrics always reflect my actual views, what I find fascinating or upsetting about people, animals, our psychologies, relationships, science, conspiracies and shit.

Who are your main influences? What else inspires you?
Speaking for myself, my biggest influences are always the temporary ones. Although relatively big names like Glen Hansard or Devin Townsend are permanent staples in my iTunes playlists, in terms of writing it’s the little things that inspire me the most. Like one hour ago I finished listening to a Mnemic album, Mnemesis, for the second time in my life. And I really love it! If it wasn’t four in the morning, I probably would have picked up my guitar already.
So with that being said, my all-time favorites certainly do have an impact on what I’m writing, speaking of the whole picture, but it’s the music of lesser importance which I find is the fuel for my creative force.

What are you working on now?
I’m putting together a video projection for our live shows, but more importantly, we are halfway through the process of writing a new album. We all agreed that our next record is turning out to be more diverse than we expected. And I still have dozens more demos, which kinda need to be sorted out and find their place.

Are you touring now? When/where?
Since we’re located in Slovakia, you can mostly catch us kicking around in Central Europe. Although we can’t afford to go on tour anytime soon, we do play shows here and there and if there ever is a chance to bring our music outside of this area, we won’t hesitate for a moment.

What can people expect at your live gigs?
A bald 7-string bass player, that guy behind a massive drum kit, an overly attractive singer who looks like Dave Grohl, and me.

Where can people check out your music?
We recently created a Soundcloud account for quick access to our music. We also offer it for free on our official website, where you can subscribe to our mailing list. However I recommend you liking our Facebook page or following us on Twitter to keep yourself posted with more detailed and interesting updates. So check us out, don’t be afraid to tell us what you think and don’t forget to like/follow/subscribe.

www.onesecondhotel.com
www.soundcloud.com/one-second-hotel
www.facebook.com/onesecondhotel
www.twitter.com/onesecondhotel

Leave a Reply

