INTERVIEW: THE SNOWDROPPERS

2013_01_22_Snowdroppers_04-456 1

In 2010, we stumbled across Sydney misfits The Snowdroppers as they skirted around the country with rock heavyweights Grinspoon. Three years and a plethora of tour stories later, the band are set to release their highly anticipated second album, Moving Out Of Eden. Just like old times, we sat down with frontman Jeremy Davidson to talk about the new album, Rod Stewart and becoming AC/DC.

By Meghan Player

It seems like years since we last spoke about the band, how have the last twelve months been?
You don’t love us anymore Meghan! It’s been a wild 12 months complete with explosions, injuries, intrigue as well as the recording of our new album.

You’re about to release the follow-up to ‘Too Late To Pray‘ – what is the first thing fans should know about the release?
The first thing they should know is it is called Moving Out Of Eden and it will be available on sonic ear cartridge from March 22.

Last time we spoke the band was talking about taking more time with writing and recording the new album – do you think that worked in your favour?
I think that was us just buying ourselves some time, but yes I believe it did work in our favour.  On the one hand it’s difficult to take time off as you risk losing touch with fans but on the other it allowed us to make the best record we possibly could.

Do you think the result may have been different had you recorded it as quickly as your debut?
Definitely. It would have been bloody awful.  To be honest, we’re not the fastest working band alive.  So if we had of done it that way, there would probably only be a song and half on the album.  I guess the album took as long as it needed to take.  I would have loved another couple of weeks actually.

There’s a bunch of new and varied sounds throughout ‘Moving Out Of Eden‘ – did you find your influences have changed since the first album?
We’re definitely a different band from the one that recorded Too Late To Pray.  A few years of sharing a confined space with only 3 other people will do that.  I think the album sounds like ‘us’. It sounds to me like a band that’s found themselves.  I guess we realised that whatever others may think we’re just a rock band and an Australian one at that.

Did you have a lot more creative freedom this time around to explore these new styles and sounds?
I realised early on that if we made TLTP pt2… some people would love it and others wouldn’t, so we just set about making the album that we wanted to make.  You’ve heard it before from a million bands I’m sure… any band wants to progress. Needs to progress.  Did that make sense? Basically we just listened to heaps of  AccaDacca and rearranged the riffs so we wouldn’t get sued.  We were originally going to call the album Back In Black but we thought that might be a little too obvious.

Is there a track on the album that you’re most proud of? Is there a track that you think sums up the album?
I’m proud of all the songs on the album… mostly… The track that sums us up though is the final track ‘Plaster On A Smile‘. It’s a tongue in cheek look at life on the road which has been our existence for the past few years. Riding in vans with boys, cheap beer, gently crying myself to sleep while I burn my clothes in the shower – the usual stuff.

Moving out of Eden’ is an interesting title for the album – is there any underlying story or reasoning behind it?
It’s the title track for the album.  For me it’s all about change.  For the protagonist in the song as well as for us as a band.  Moving from somewhere comfortable to the unknown.  It’s both scary and liberating.  I believe it was the Greek philosopher Heraclitus who said ‘the only constant is change’ and I think there’s a little something in that for everyone.  You know it’s amazing how little we have to remember now that we have Google and WikiPedia.

In a live setting, the band certainly looks as though you’ve come into it’s own [even more then before] over the last 12 to 18 months – do you think this is a sign of where the band is now?
We’ve always been a live band.  Always will be.  I believe the constant touring, while trying at times, has carved us into the tornado machine that you see before you – but that said I still feel we can evolve and get better.  Personally I’m very influenced by the classic soul bands of the 50s/60s, that constant energy sizzling away beneath the surface is definitely something I want to explore more within our live context.  That said, a well placed dick joke never hurts either.


You’ve already started the year with a few tour dates around the country – are you looking into doing a more extensive tour after the album is released?
I’m calling this period our “warm up” time.  Getting back into the swing of things as it were.  We’ll definitely be doing an extensive tour come album time.  Stay tuned.

How will you prepare yourselves for ‘touring life’ again?
The real issue I have as a musician and singer specifically is that I’m really paranoid about my vocal health.  You read about these old guys that smoked and drank themselves through the 70s and didn’t give a toss (PS I love you Rod Stewart) but it’s just not something I can do.  Maybe I’m just a bit of a wuss, a bit soft.
If I was a guitar player I swear I’d be wankered 24/7. Unfortunately I come from a long line of alcoholics, and booze just kills my voice (sorry Barnsey) so my tour preparation involves strapping some electrodes to my wedding tackle by way of a case of VB – so whenever I try to take a gulp I get a short, sharp shock of car battery through my tally whacker.  Keeps me sober and alert through the entire tour.

Finally, how would you convince our readers to grab a copy of ‘Moving Out Of Eden‘?
Well I figure once Bernard Zuel reviews us in the Herald we’ll have the over 30s market sewn up, which should see us through till album number 3. Let’s face it, cool people never liked us anyway.

================================================================================================

Many thanks to Jeremy for taking the time to chat to us. The Snowdroppers release ‘Moving Out of Eden’ on March 22nd. You can keep up-to-date with tour dates and info at: http://www.snowdroppers.com

Leave a Reply

