In a celebratory toast to 10 years of some of Australia’s (and the world’s) best and brightest releases, Dew Process brings you The Procession: 10 Years of Dew Process. Released digitally this Friday 7th December, the 45-track compilation is a collection of the label’s favourite songs from artists that have all been a part of the wunderkind.    The genesis of Dew Process lay with Paul Piticco, who in 2002, when managing Powderfinger towards the pinnacle of their career, saw the need for an artist-friendly label in Australia and New Zealand. After bringing on long time friend John Mullen to be Head of A&R, Piticco set up shop in Brisbane and they began to steer the dream.

“Being a manager, I think I understood how ‘career’ artists thought.  It was central to nearly all the conversations we had about Powderfinger. So, we set out to start a label for artists that would build careers; careers that would stand the test of time,” explains Paul Piticco, Managing Director of Dew Process.

“I wanted Dew Process to be a home for artists where they felt understood and could grow, and where we could still deliver them a pay cheque.  It’s harder than you think to traverse that space between art and commerce! I wanted a label that wasn’t static in genre or thinking; one that would move in between the artist, the ever-changing industry and the audience with ease. Hopefully, we have achieved that. Or are at least well on our way.”

The label kicked off with an EP release from At The Drive In-born Sparta. From there, releases with The Fergusons, Seafood and J Masics followed, before Piticco and Mullen set about signing what was to become one of Australia’s most iconic voices: Sarah Blasko. The Procession: 10 Years of Dew Process honours all of these artists and more, with the likes of The Grates, Bernard Fanning, The Living End, Mumford & Sons, Jebediah, Grouplove, The Panics and The Hives all taking their place on the compilation.

It has been an astonishing and gratifying 10 years for Dew Process, with 11 Aria awards (and 43 Aria nominations), two J Awards (and nine J Award nominations) and two #1 spots in triple j’s Hottest 100 (with over 30 entries). Add to that 11 albums reaching certified Gold-selling status, six of which went Platinum at least once, along with six certified Gold-selling singles, four of which went Platinum and it’s hard to believe that all this was achieved whilst having tremendous amounts of fun along the way.

“When the whole team sat down and went over the compilation’s tracklisting, we were astounded at how much great music there was to choose from. I was really proud of our team and all our artists. It’s a cracking list! And yet, so many great tracks had to be omitted due to space.” says Piticco of The Procession.

“I hope those of you who listen enjoy our little snapshot of the Australian music scene over the last decade and smile as much as we have through sharing all these songs. To our partners, internally and outside in media land, thanks for the support. We couldn’t have done it without you.  I look forward to the next ten!”

The Procession: 10 Years of Dew Process will be released digitally on Friday, 7th via iTunes or   Remember the last decade? The Procession: 10 Years of Dew Process full tracklisting is below to help!


1.     Turn Me On – The Grates

2.     Go Right Ahead – The Hives

3.     White Noise – The Living End

4.     Wish You Well – Bernard Fanning

5.     Black Wax – Dananananaykroyd

6.     She’s Like A Comet – Jebediah

7.     Colours – Grouplove

8.     I Woke Up Today – Port O’Brien

9.     The Cave – Mumford & Sons

10.  Don’t Fight It – The Panics

11.  We Don’t Eat – James Vincent McMorrow

12.  Even Though I’m A Woman – Seeker Lover Keeper

13.  I Remember – Whitley

14.  Generator 2nd Floor – Freelance Whales

15.  The Rabbit, The Bat and the Reindeer – Dr Dog

16.  Glory Box – Powderfinger

17.  Empty Hands – Art of Sleeping

18.  Don’t U Eva – Sarah Blasko

19.  The Spaces Between – Expatriate

20.  Get Gone – White Arrows

21.  Impossible – Shout Out Louds

22.  You And I – Drag

23.  Zoom – Last Dinosaurs

24.  Pot Kettle Black – Tilly and The Wall

25.  Mye – Sparta

26.  ATX – Alberta Cross

27.  Tessellate – Tokyo Police Club

28.  Bad Teenage Poetry – The Tremors

29.  Polka – Yves Klein Blue

30.  Trashcan – Delta Spirit

31.  Overpass – The John Steel Singers

32.  Festival – Dungen

33.  Sinner Is Red – The Fergusons

34.  Broken Leg – Bluejuice

35.  MoneyGrabber – Fitz And The Tantrums

36.  Wild Love – Gossling

37.  This Head I Hold – Electric Guest

38.  What’s So Bad (About Feeling Good) – Ben Lee

39.  Raisin Heart – Mosman Alder

40.  Botanist – Guineafowl

41.  Key To My Heart – Zulu Winter

42.  Everybody Lets Me Down – J Mascis & The Fog

43.  Heading For The Cold – Ernest Ellis

44.  Pick Up The Pace – The Predators

45.  I’m Shipping Up To Boston (live) – Dropkick Murphys


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s